blankets

I received another beautiful baby gift today – a warm, snuggly, powdery blue, fleecy blanket. It’ll be perfect for chilly stroller walks. I’ve got quite a collection of blankets now, a quilt my mom made when I was a baby, my own first receiving blanket, which my mother also made (knitted), another lovely knitted blanket from a lady in my choir, and a pile of flannel receiving blankets. Of course, they look so nice now. And so nice in the magazines. All neatly ironed and folded, stacked on the changing table or draped casually over the crib or rocking chair, colour coordinated. They fail to show the pictures of the blankets when they’re being used. Faded, wrinkled, spit up on, pooped on, peed on, sweat on, faded, dirty, in a pile near the washing machine. I guess I should take pictures of them now while they look nice.
Leave a Reply

