and sometimes they surprise you

Emma has an uncanny ability to be sleeping in the car but wake up the moment we enter a parking lot. It happened not once, not twice, but 3 times yesterday. She fell asleep on the way to church, but her eyes popped open as we entered the parking lot. Then she fell asleep on the way to a baby shower, but awoke as I parked. Then she fell asleep on the way home but opened her eyes just before I hit the garage door opener. She truly is the Baby that Doesn’t Sleep.

Then again, she seems to be taking to her night sleeping ok. She went to bed last night around 7:30 and amazingly stayed asleep even though we had 8 people in the living room for Bible Study. But then, when she woke in the middle of the night only an hour after her last night feed, she was really upset. I mean screaming and arching like a cat upset. I think it was gas but nothing seemed to be coming out. I walked with her for awhile (like a zombie – I was exhausted) and eventually ended up feeding her again. She would nurse, be happy as I tried to burp her and fall asleep. Alas, she did not burp though, which I know is contributing to her gassiness. So when she was sleepy and I tried to put her back to bed, she woke up and was fighting again. I ended up nursing her to sleep as it seems the only thing that will calm her after a gas attack. Unfortunately, nursing to sleep means no burp which means more gas… what a vicious cycle.

Then again she really is a miracle. I am every day amazed at how much I love her. She is napping (finally) now but I’m sure will wake up at 45 min on the dot… she usually does.

Leave a Reply

