The Amazing Sleeping Baby

On Saturday night we all went to another couple’s house for dinner with Dan & Leigh. Actually, it was Dan’s sister’s place, Sarah, with her husband, Ben. They have 2 kids, Owen’s 2 1/2 and Ellody is 19 months. Adorable! Ben and Sarah put their kids to bed before dinner, Leigh put Renee in the bouncy chair to watch the hockey game, and John tried to put Emma down for a nap. She fought it though, and I ended up feeding her (again) at the dinner table. No worries though, because after she was done she was dopey and I put her down in Sarah’s room. It took a little coaxing to get her down, but she did eventually go. The first time I think she was upset by Ellody whining herself to sleep.

Dinner was delicious, and John and I crept up to check on Emma a few times. Then Owen started wailing. Poor little guy has stomach troubles that have been mounting for a few weeks. Sarah’s taking him in to the doctor again to try and figure it out. He’s just whooping and crying and Ben is asking him, "What’s wrong? What’s wrong?" and he keeps saying, "My belly, my belly!" And all the while EMMA SLEPT! In the next room. With a wailing kid right though the wall. And she SLEPT! AND SLEPT! Until it was time to leave! I was amazed.

When we got home that night, I fed her and then we put her to bed. It was about 1am when she finally went down. All of a sudden, it was 6:30! And SHE SLEPT! For 5 1/2 hours! I was amazed. I kept telling everyone that I hoped it was a continuing trend.

Last night we went to John’s parents’ for dinner. We didn’t stay long though because we were both really tired. We got home around 8pm and got ready for bed. I fed Emma who was very sleepy, and it took her the better part of an hour to feed properly. (I’ve been experimenting with single side feeding to encourage her to get more hind milk. It takes longer because the later let downs take a while, but it seems to be working.) Anyway, she finally went to bed around 9:30 and after a quick snack, we went to bed before 10pm. I woke up once or twice in the night really hot and sweaty but didn’t think much of it. At around 5:30, Emma was rustling a bit, passed some wind, but I fell back asleep, knowing she’d wake me up if she wanted to. Well, suddenly I woke up, John was in the shower, Emma was rustling, and it was 6:30! She had SLEPT for 9 hours! I was astounded! She was ravenous of course when she woke up.

I’m not sure what the key is, but a good long feeding right before bed seems to be part of it. I did not dreamfeed the last 2 nights and so she was burped well so the gas wasn’t as bad a problem. I was worrying a bit last week that she wasn’t getting enough but yesterday she had 3 poopy diapers plus some of the heaviest, wettest pee diapers she’s had. And this morning was similar. So she’s getting enough, if not more, than before. And it’s making her SLEEP!

Hallelujah!

One response

Leave a Reply

