storytime

I took Emma to the library today for the first of four Baby Storytimes. It’s a half hour where moms & dads bring their under 2 year olds for nursery rhymes, stories and songs. Emma was the youngest I think, although there were a few that looked only about 4 or 5 months. There were lots of walking toddlers. Actually, it was packed. The tiny room had about 30 babies plus their parents / grandparents / nannies etc. There was a stroller parking lot at the door, and a mad rush for the rattles and shakers when they came out. The leader, Lynda, understands that at this age the key is to keep them busy and occupied. So it was 30 minutes of Pat-a-Cake, I’m a little teapot, Wheels on the Bus and Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. Lots of squealing kids, lots of adults making silly faces, and lots of noise. Emma was really good for about 15 minutes, sitting on my lap while I gently made her hands clap. When she started to tire, I put her up on my shoulder where she sat happily sucking her fist for another 10 or so minutes, looking around. Then she fell asleep! How surprised was I. Amid the din of the toddlers, rattles, goofy sing songs and cooing parents, she drifted peacefully off to sleep on my shoulder. It was really sweet. I put her in her carseat, buckled her in and she stayed asleep! I managed to even actually visit the library and pick up a few movies in sweet silence.

And last night she slept 7 hours! Woohoo! It’s definately looking up. She is taking daytime naps now too – even if they are short at least she goes down without too much of a fuss. Now I just have to teach myself to start going to bed earlier – when she goes down, I always think to myself, wow some alone time! And either read, check email, hang out with John, or do something that I couldn’t really get to during the day. Then before I know it, it’s 11:30pm or midnight… I mean I’m getting 5 hours in a row now at least, but still, I could use more! Who couldn’t?

Leave a Reply

