blip

It’s just a blip. Really. A growth spurt. I hope so anyway. As soon as John and I got all happy and excited that Emma was consistently sleeping 5 or more hours at night, she went and changed it all. Now she still goes to bed alright, and only once did she wake up at 11pm expecting her dreamfeed I guess. But for the last 2 nights she has woken up at 1am (almost on the dot). Wed night she just wanted to play, and it wasn’t until 2 am that she was finally sleepy enought that I could feed her and put her back to bed. Then she slept till after 8. Last night she woke up at 1, I fed her, and then she woke back up at 4! John got her up and changed her diaper and played with her a bit but her has to get up at 6 for work. I was too tired to sit up and feed her so we brought her into bed. Now that she’s been sleeping on her own for over a month, having her sleep in our bed is not really about sleeping anymore. She doesn’t really understand it anymore. She nurses and nurses and nurses, and doesn’t really fall asleep from it anymore. Or if she does it’s not for the 2-3 hour blocks that it used to be. So from 4 until 6 she was constantly waking me up… finally at 6 John woke up and put her in her crib to play until he took her down for breakfast with him. Then she came back to bed with me… again to nurse on and off. But I was just SOOOO tired and could not manage to get up before 10:30… usually we’re up around 8:30 or 9.

However, when she came to bed at 4, I managed to fall asleep long enough to have a strange dream, more likely based on the wiggly body next to me that I’m not used to sleeping with anymore. John and I were camping (I think) and he was tickling me with his foot. I kept telling him to stop, but he kept tickling my side. Finally, when I asked him for the umpteenth time to stop, he said, "I’m not doing anything!" I reached down and a weird little lizard crawled out of my sleeping bag. Kind of like a gecko. John grabbed it and it hissed at him. He hissed back. Then I saw a crab-like spider crawling toward my sleeping bag and F-R-E-A-K-E-D out. John tried to sic the lizard on it, so now I had both the lizard and weird crab-spider coming toward me. It freaked me out enough that I kicked out in my sleep and gave John a good boot to the shin. Then I realized Emma was snuggled against me, wiggling. Phew! Because I HATE spiders. Anything creepy crawly… ugh.

Leave a Reply

