wifecreep

No, it’s not as raunchy as it sounds. A dear friend of ours introduced John to "wifecreep". Sounds, well, creepy, doesn’t it? What exactly is wifecreep? Well, if you’re a SAHM (Stay At Home Mom) or even a WAHM (Work At Home Mom) you are a Research Associate in the field of Child Development and Human Relations. What does that involve? For me,  I have a continuing program of research, (what mother doesn’t) in the laboratory and in the field, (indoors and out). I’m working for my Masters, (first the Lord and then the whole family) and already have two credits (beautiful daughters). Of course, the job is one of the most demanding in the humanities, (any mother care to disagree?) and I often work 14 hours a day, (24 is more like it). But the job is more challenging than most run-of-the-mill careers and the rewards are more of a satisfaction rather than just money (this is from a lovely email I got from my aunt). Sonds like an impressive job! Where exactly is my office? My home of course. I am the CEO of this place. Even though John is the breadwinner, I manage the household affairs. John actually said to me once that I have now surpassed him in the kitchen (he’s an excellent cook) – he even has to ask sometimes where things go. I was nursing Caelyn once and he was in the bathroom and I said, "There’s a cup of water on the counter. Instead of dumping it out, water that plant over there." He said, "How do you remember stuff like that?" Well, I’m supposed to. It’s my job. Ok, so what does this have to do with wifecreep? Being the head of the household, John has his "stuff". His "areas". If we were in a bigger house, he’d probably have his own den instead of half of a desk in our office. Half of a desk sounds fair, right? Not when you consider that we have 2 desks. I pretty much take up a lot of space. Now, that’s a bit overstated, since some of the space is shared space, like the computer and printer. Wifecreep isn’t so apparent in our house. In our friend’s house, the husband’s den is actually full of… wait for it… the wife’s stuff. "Yeah, it was supposed to be my office, but she’s got her scrapbooking stuff in here." That, my friend’s, is wifecreep. When the his and hers closet is 90% hers. When the bathroom cupboards only have 1 shelf of male products. When the dresser has only 2 of 7 drawers containing his clothes. When the office becomes increasingly the craft room. You saw it here first… wifecreep.
Leave a Reply

