I Believe…

Somebody gave me the link to the official Olympic theme song and I heard it for the first time today in its entirety sung by Nikki Yanofsky. I also just finished watching the Opening Ceremonies. Nikki has a great voice and it’s definitely one of those themes that gets your heart and emotions going. I enjoyed the video and the OC and I am very proud to be a Canadian. You probably already know that I don’t “believe” the “believe” sentiment of the Olympics. I believe in God and that’s quite different from what the song is about.

The words speak of believing in oneself and others so that you can be unstoppable. We do need to have confidence in ourselves and should be surrounded by loving and supportive people, I don’t disagree with that. But who wills me to be all that I can be? God does.

And I do believe in the power of the world brought together as one. But the world will be brought together by the work of Jesus, not by its own actions or decisions.

And to be the change we wish from others is only possible with the Holy Spirit working in you every day.

But you can decide for yourself. Here are the lyrics and video.

I Believe – by Stephan Moccio – performed by Nikki Yanofsky

There comes a moment when my heart must stand alone
On this lonely path I’ve chosen
like a house that’s not a home
Sometimes when I feel I’ve had enough
And I feel like giving up,
You willed me to be all I can be;
Now nothing can stop me.
I believe in the power that comes
From a world brought together as one.
I believe together we’ll fly.
I believe in the power of you and I.

This is the moment we have dreamed of all our lives.
We’ll be the change we wish from others,
We’ll stand tall for what is right.
And in my heart there’ll be no doubt
The arms of the world will come reaching out
And embrace me to be all I can be.
Now nothing can stop me.
I believe in the power that comes
From a world brought together as one.
I believe together we’ll fly.
I believe in the power of you and I.

I believe the time is right now.
Stand tall and make the world proud.
I believe together we’ll fly.
I believe in the power of you and I.
I believe in the power of you and I.

I believe, I believe, I believe in, I believe, I believe in you. (2x)
I believe, I believe, I believe in you.

I believe together we’ll fly. I believe in the power of you and I.

I believe the time is right now.
Stand tall and make the world proud.
I believe together we’ll fly.
I believe in the power…

I believe in the power that comes
From a world brought together as one (Of you and I)
I believe together we’ll fly.
I believe in the power of you and I (power)
I believe the time is right now (Oh you and I)
Stand tall and make the world proud.
I believe together well fly (Together well fly)
I believe in the power of you and I

I believe in the power of you and I.

Leave a Reply

