It’s a beautiful day in the neighbourhood

Can you believe the sunshine we’ve been having here? It is really remarkable – I see new buds, glorious blooms, and stunning displays of colour all around. We weren’t the only ones taking pictures of these magnificent cherry trees today.

I feel like a dried out old sponge that has been dropped into a sink full of gloriously bubbly warm water. I’m literally drinking in the rays. I spent part of the morning lounging on the window seat reading The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule (fantastic so far, I’ll review later!) and drinking my tea while the kids played Mousetrap with J. It was very peaceful and lying there I could just bask in the warmth (we have a south facing kitchen and yard so we literally get sun all day long). We’ve been able to get outside a bit this week and today spent the afternoon at the market on Granville Island. We ate a whole baguette from the wonderful french bakery just because they’re so yummy!

Today we spent the day with a lovely woman from our church who can’t actually make it to church because she’s in a wheelchair. Her husband died years ago and she lives alone with daily caregivers coming to help. I believe she came to be in a wheelchair a number of years ago from a car accident while on vacation with a friend. It’s a rather tragic story but you will be hard pressed to find a more positive, pleasant, and content woman in your life. My children love to visit her and she will even give them “rides” on her powered wheelchair, allowing E to steer just a little. She has dealt with some very hard things and yet she is positively radiant with grace. Even without the sunshine of the day, the sunshine of her disposition and attititude on life would have had the same effect on me.

Being in her presence reminds me of all of the blessings God showers upon us. It is so easy to get caught up in the drudgery of life – the dishes, laundry, diapers, vacuuming, cooking, paying bills… these things are constant. But when you are in the presence of a truly gracious person, your eyes open once again to the blessings that these things are to you.

Instead of That’s a mountain of dishes to wash
I think We have lots of food to eat.

Instead of I have to vacuum again
I think I have a beautiful home.

Instead of These kids are driving me crazy
I think These kids are gifts from God.

Every now and then we need a wake up call. Sometimes that’s in the form of sunshine. Sometimes it’s a person. Sometimes it’s something your kid says. Whatever it is, if we are open to these messages from God and are receptive to what He is trying to tell us, our whole outlook can change. And that can make any day a beautiful day in the neighbourhood.

Leave a Reply

