Movie: Julie & Julia

I spent last night watching Julie & Julia while folding my mountain of laundry (as an aside, I actually only folded half the mountain. I got so engrossed the film that I forgot about the other pile…) I really enjoyed it. I’ll admit that I’ve never seen Julia Child’s TV shows (we were a Joy household growing up) so I didn’t really know what to expect. I’d heard a lot of comments about Meryl Streep’s portrayal of her. Mostly I wanted to watch it because:

1) I love food.

2) I love Amy Adams.

3) I love Meryl Streep.

So I got all three in one cute and delicious movie.

I have long been enchanted by French food. Many years ago when J and I started dating we would go on a fancy date (with a coupon, bein sur!) to one of many French restaurants around here – Fleuri, Chef & Carpenter, La Belle Auberge… we’ve also been to both Quebec City (its own gastronomic wonder) and Montreal, and to Paris Paris in Las Vegas. J has been to the real country and the real Paris and up the real Eiffel Tower. My brother actually lived outside of Toulousse for half a year learning to cook under a French-speaking only chef. Alas, I have not yet been to France but it is on my to do list.

All that said, I love French food. I recently read (and reviewed) French Women Don’t Get Fat and  French Women for All Seasons, both by the utterly French Mireille Guilliano. And I’m so enchanted by the way she described her life  growing up in Provence and what she observes as the differences between French and North American philosophies about food. And I am much more of the French ilk when it comes to food, I think. I love bread. Cheese. Wine. Champagne. Chocolate. Butter. Tomatoes. Fresh herbs. Duck. Skin-on, bone-in chicken. I love the idea of buying what you need for a day or two rather than the big twice a month, stock-up-the-pantry-and-freezer-until-it-busts. I love that in France the entire country stops for lunch at 12 for 2 hours, even school children who get fed a proper three course lunch. I love that there is le goûter, similar to the English afternoon tea, so ritual to the French that to miss it is not even an option.

The most wonderful looking thing in the movie? By far it was the bruschetta! It made me drool. To bad I’m going out for dinner tonight or I’d make it. I guess we’re having it tomorrow! Good thing the kids like tomatoes. Good thing my husband likes garlic. Good thing we all love to eat! (Most of the time – kids are notoriously unpredictable when it comes to eating…) I’m probably going to use this one, or maybe this one.

I’ll be sure to take some pictures of it when I do craft it up. Until then, bon appetit!

2 responses

  1. I did make the bruscetta, and have made it several times, and it is wonderful! I haven’t had a chance to put up the pics or the “story” yet but will do soon.

Leave a Reply

