The Dentist

Can I just mention that it snowed in Edmonton yesterday? We’re going to be there on Tuesday…

Last time I went to the dentist I found out that I have to get some work done on one of my bottom molars. No big deal, had similar work done last year on another one. Not major like root canal or crown. It’s a molar that’s had a filling for many years.

My teeth have always been sensitive to cold and extreme hot. It’s pretty annoying, even with Sensodyne, Pronamel, building mouthwashes etc. it’s only gotten mildly better over the years. So for the last few months I’ve been have a sharp, shooting pain in aforementioned molar when I bite on something hard, like a seed in multi-grain bread. I mentioned that at the last visit and that was why he thought I needed some work. The older filling is probably losing its stability and there may be some fissures or something causing pressure on the nerve.

Well, last week I was happily eating my multi-grain bread when I crunched down on a seed in just the wrong way and it made my eyes water and my throat yelp with pain. It was so painful I almost cried. It subsided within minutes but ever since then, that tooth has been painful, sensitive and achy. Luckily I was able to get an appointment today before we leave.

I am now back from that appointment, mouth achy from being open for an hour and starting to unfreeze. Well, the “work” that I originally was going to get done didn’t and isn’t happening. He had to actually remove part of my tooth today and give me some temporary tooth to see how bad it actually is. Then he’ll decide if it needs a crown or a root canal.

Dentist: So give it a day or two and then let me know what it feels like.
Me: (mumbling and drooling from the anesthetic) Uh, well, we’re going away on Friday.
Dentist: Oh, for how long?
Me: A month…
Dentist and assistant look at each other and laugh.
Me: What does that mean?
Assistant: It means the dentist gets on a plane and flies to where you are, and takes a look…
Dentist: Well, let’s hope nothing gets worse. I’m going to give you some prescriptions to take along, in case it gets unbearable.
Me: Oh… ok, great.
Assistant: If an infection starts up and you get inflamed, you’ll need the T3’s for the pain. The antibiotics are to keep the infection from getting too bad.

It must be my lucky day. Just another thing to add to the ever-growing packing list (yesterday I added batteries and a battery charger).

Oh, did I mention that it snowed in Edmonton yesterday? Does that mean I have to add snowsuits to the list?

Leave a Reply

