I hate scammers

Got a call from 780-947-8989 – when I answered an automated message informed me I had won 100 000 Airmiles and to press 1  to accept. I was pretty sure it was a scam but I pressed 1. Some guy answered and said congratulations then asked if I was 25 or older (said yes) and then if I had a valid credit card (said yes, to see what would happen next). Um, RED FLAG! Shouldn’t ask for a credit card if they’re going to give me miles, eh? I was then patched through to some guy named “Noel” (Nole?) who started to tell me about Cancun and the “promotion” – I was trying to google the details of the scam as he was talking but Mr. T started crying at that moment so I told him I had to go and hung up.

So I googled the number and the airmiles details and got this information from whocallsme.com – lots of fraudulent calls from this number claiming people have won all kinds of things from Costco, Rogers, and Airmiles, to name a few. The Airmiles forum also had this response posted (find it here):

Hello All!  Thanks for letting us know what is going on.  First, this is not an AIR MILES initiative. We do not use an automated message to notify Collectors they have won reward miles. We urge Canadians to protect themselves by never sharing personal information or account information with anyone who should not have access to it. Any suspicious telephone call when personal information is asked for should be reported immediately to the Canadian Anti-Fraud Task Force at 1-888-495-8501 or by e-mail at: info@antifraudcentre.ca. More information is also available at: http://www.antifraudcentre-centreantifraude.ca Canadians should also visit the Anti-Fraud Task Force website to learn more about what steps they should take to avoid becoming a victim of telemarketing/automated telephone schemes.

NEVER EVER give your credit card over the phone unless you are 110% positive you know what it is for. When in doubt, ask the person/company to call back or ask for an id name/number. And Google it! Chances are you’ll find whether it’s true or false.

Leave a Reply

